music and me

Music was my first love and it will be my last.
Music of the future and music of the past.
To live without my music would be impossible to do.
In this world of troubles, my music pulls me through.


very true words from  John Miles in my opinion. that is what music is to me, that and more. it is a connector to the rest of the world and often to my own emotions. I don’t think I am unique in that, many people have said this about music. and that is the beauty and the miracle of music, it moves so many, more then any other kind of art.

there are many kinds of music and what you like is a matter of taste. what good music is, is just what most people like but is the rest even if there is only one or two people who like it bad music. I don’t think so.

personally I like almost all music. it has a melody, I will not hate it. of course there are kinds that I like more then others.  I love hearing the moonlight sonata from Beethoven but also sing loudly along with the well known songs from ABBA.  this are two very different styles but both beautiful in there own way. I don’t think there is something like bad taste. how can something you like or even love to listen too be bad ? if you put headphones on then you certainly not hurting anyone by it.  I will talk about specific kinds of music that I really love more in other post. (if I go over them all here the post is going to be really long because there are so many worthy of being discussed with more words).

music can also have a purpose beside being enjoyable to listen to. it can give a powerful message to the world or to someone special.  other peoples music can also describe my own feelings and so make me feel less alone in the world. songs sometimes can describe my feelings better then I can in words.

the art of making/composing music is a wonderful gift and one that isn’t given to me. I mean I can hold a tune and with a lot of  practise I could probably be taught to play a instrument but am not very talented. I have sung in choirs  (non-church choirs) for quite some years and loved doing that despite my terror for preforming for any kind of audience. some times when I was on stage singing and  everything was just right. I felt more connected to the people around me (speciality the people singing with me) then ever before and that is a great feeling, that is one hell of a kick. and that is also what music can give. the reason that I stopped was that I first had to change from one to another choir (simply because I got to old) and then I had a school thing on the same night so I stopped. now it seems just to hard to start all over again. but maybe I should think about that for a wile.

the conclusion is simple

music is very impotent to me and I wouldn’t know what to do if I ever lost the ability to experience music

So I say
Thank you for the music, the songs Im singing
Thanks for all the joy there bringing
Who can live without it, I ask in all honesty
What would life be?
Without a song or a dance what are we?

( ABBA)

Leave a Reply

