the wonderful world of J&W

I want to talk about the little world that P.G Wodehouse created, the world of Bertie Wooster and his butler Jeeves. the Jeeves books are made up out of several short stories, the stories are told by Wooster and his world is what you get to meet. its one wherein aunts rule the world, money is no problem and work is just a dirty word, its one wherein engagements are on and off faster then you can say Nagasaki and wherein the smartest man you know is your butler. its also a word wherein family and friends are the most important thing in the world and so it once duty to them. I like it because its light reading and I mean light in the sense of that the problems are even tho important and bad for him are just a bit silly and if those are the worse problems you have then life is good for you.  the relationship with Jeeves is one of master and servant  but one is free to wonder who is the master of the two. the language is also a jolly one that makes it hard to even try to be gloomy wile reading it. I haven’t even read half of my first book (the world of Jeeves) and I am already a fan.

I am wondering about the absence of the parents and closer family then aunts of Wooster and why that fact seems to be ignored. I think that its just to keep the story light and not too troublesome but I could be completely wrong. shame that the author  isn’t around any more to ask.

I won’t bore you to much further just want to say that if you don’t know the books, give it a try. it may be not your cup of tea but you might also just love it as I do.

2 responses to “the wonderful world of J&W

  1. Yay!!! That’s great! You’re so right with everything. P.G. Wodehouse, the master of language. If I could only write like him *sigh*

Leave a Reply

