Saturday centus..week 23

another week, another piece.

the prompt is in bold

If I had a hammer

I’d built you a home

a shelter from rain

in any form known

 

if I had a hammer

you would never be cold

I’d make you a small room

for wherein we grow old

 

but I had no hammer nor no wood

so you left with another, for he had food

he had a grant house and sufficient wine

you shall not be happy but simply fine.

17 responses to “Saturday centus..week 23

  1. Oh, I like this. Poignant, real and a great use of the prompt. 🙂

  2. This is eversomuch nicer than mine! It is really beautiful! You WIN!!

  3. Oh, makes me sad, I think…but yes, a winner.

  4. Bittersweet take on the prompt. Really well done.

  5. This is beautiful! So well crafted! Brilliant!

  6. Aaaw…such a poingant little tale, I loved it, well done :o)

  7. oh I like this a grass is greener type of scenario. Kind of sweet and well thought out!

  8. Very touching and sad. Great take on the prompt.

  9. Touching. A truth too, for many..

    that hammer

  10. You said so much in so few words. It’s excellent – very powerful.
    xoRobyn

  11. The difference a hammer makes…very nice take…Peace

  12. Beautiful poem.
    Sad, poignant, bitter-sweet, wistful, dreamlike and elusive.
    Just wonderfully written!
    Best wishes,
    Anna
    For the benefit of other readers:
    Anna’s SC Week 23

  13. A hammer can literally make or break one’s life?! Liked how the poem begins on a joyful note and then turns into a song of loss and longing.

  14. Such a different take on the prompt. This was lovely and heartbreaking. Beautifully written.

  15. Wow. Slow down, girl. You are leaving me in the dust with your poetry. This was astonishing.

    I read it twice and the third time hummed it. It reminds me so much of old folk music.

    Absolutely lovely.

    Thank you for linking.

  16. i love this poem, its painful images and sweetness make for a strong verse. girl, you are good!

    thanks……….cj

Leave a Reply

