agoraphobia

that title is a nice fancy word, that probably needs some kind of explaining. the fancy word is Greek, most people will know that a phobia is something one is afraid of so that leaves us with agora the thing one is afraid of. Agora is the Greek word for market, what may lead you into believing I want to talk about the irrational fear of markets.the phobia-list says this about agoraphobia Fear of open spaces or of being in crowded, public places like markets. Fear of leaving a safe place.

the name of this phobia is at least misleading and more so completely wrong. the phobia-list is more right but still not quite there. a better description is “Agoraphobia is the fear of being in a situation where one might experience anxiety or panic and where escape from the situation might be difficult or embarrassing”

I think I might have it, I go less to pubic places and if I can help it not alone. I feel that I don’t manage on my own, I’ve had panic-attacks and am terrified of having one when I am out. (what doesn’t help). the other day I had the idea of going to a museum but the thought of going on my own makes me tremble, so I don’t go.my anxiety is not getter better but worse, I am use to fighting it but it may be to hard to do this time, I’ve always been afraid that my fears may make me house-bound and now I think that it will happen one day and I am not sure I can do anything about it.

they should have called it phobiaphobia the fear of fear itself, seems more accurate.

Leave a Reply

